Forum:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: can I have sex without condom on my VERY first day on the pill?

Junior Member Array

Default can I have sex without condom on my VERY first day on the pill?

This is my first time using birth control pills, I'm going to be using the Yasmin Pill.

I will start the pill on the first day of my period (lets say for example 1st May at 10am). Can I then have sex with my boyfriend on the night of the 1st May without him using a condom and can he ejaculate inside me?

I've seen so many things on the internet just saying "if you start using the pill on the first day of your period you don't need to you other forms of contraception". But im just worried because this is my FIRST ever time using the pills, so should my boyfriend still use a condom for the first day of my pill taking? or the first week?

Thank you.

WH Assistant Head Moderator Array LanaBear's Avatar
    Blog Entries

No, you need to use backup for 30 days. Don't take the chance.

Welcome to the forum!
    Friendship Prayer
    May the fleas of a thousand camels infest the crotch of the person who screws up your day and may their arms be too short to scratch.
    Amen

Whoever said anything was possible obviously never tried slamming a revolving door.

Junior Member Array

Thank you so much for the quick reply.

Is this because the pill is new to my system??

WH Assistant Head Moderator Array LanaBear's Avatar
    Blog Entries

Yes and it will take some time for the hormones to build up in your body.

There is obvious discrepancy over how long you can wait to have sex without a condom when starting the pill. I've read as little as 7 days, but Dr's have always told me 30. I would error on the side of caution and go 30 days. Better safe than pregnant, if that's not what you are looking for.
    Friendship Prayer
    May the fleas of a thousand camels infest the crotch of the person who screws up your day and may their arms be too short to scratch.
    Amen