Forum:

Thread: Does he care more about his friends than about me?

Junior Member Array

Default Does he care more about his friends than about me?

I was in a relationshiip with someone for two years, we broke up but still kept in contact which was very very hard for me because I still loved him. Now two years later after not being together he wanted to try again and see if things will work out. I think this will be good for me because I had been hanging on to hope for 2 years...so if this doesn't work out I know I will have closure and can move on. Its going to either work and get married later, or not work and say goodbye. That being said, I am pretty scared about the idea that we may have to just say goodbye. I feel like he puts his friends above me...and I do not want to live my whole life feeling like that. For example, I was on a short trip for 4 days with my girlfriends and just got back yesterday, of course i'm eager to see him. While i was gone, he was out with his friends on all of those days too....he called last night to tell me about how great is was, and told me a really funny story that happened, but then when i started talking about stuff, he fell asleep (happens a lot, cuz he likes to call me at bedtime). This morning he apologized, and said he would really like to see me tonight...then five minutes later he remembered that today was "Monday night at the bar Night" and that he would see first if his friends were going to cancel. If they cancel, he will come see me, if not he goes to the bar night. So, my heart sank just a bit, cuz i felt like "second place." I tried to explain it to him, but he doesn't understand why I should feel upset. Am I being unreasonable? I believe having friends is very important for everyone, but I feel like this sort of thing may happen a lot with us and not sure if I am behaving like a selfish immature girl, or if it really means he is just happy having friends, and doesn't need a woman in his life?