Forum:

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should you use soap when washing your vagina?

Junior Member Array

Smile Should you use soap when washing your vagina?

Hi everyone - I am new to Women's Health and needed some help figuring out how other women wash their vagina during your daily shower. I have read similar posts, but they seeemd to be talking more about washing after sex - I was interested in what you use to wash yourself - soap, water, etc.

I have heard that you only need to wash yourself with water and have heard that others use soap. If you use soap, can you please recommend a brand and also try to explain which areas it is safe to apply soap to?

Thanks!

VIP Member Array

The best soaps to use for washing the vagina are those without dyes or perfumes. So, White Dove, Ivory - soaps of that nature clean well without causing irritation. This is what my gyno told me. Harsh soaps can cause yeast infections or vaginal itching. I have heard that the body cleans itself down there and all of that, but I believe soap is nice to make you feel really fresh after you shower or bathe...

Veteran Member (800+ posts & member 1 year+) Array Goodgirl93's Avatar

Well since recently recovering from a yeast infection from using PERFUME body wash,I do not recommend perfumes soaps by any means.Now I use a "Feminine Wash",Its a soap made just for the vaginal area and because I am sensitive to bar soaps,that is what I currently use,and it works fantastic.Just look for bottles of wash at the store that say "Gynecology tested" (or something along those lines) If your are lucky,unlike me,you may also use soaps such as dove,ivory,ect.

Although I am not very far along in my medical education, I have yet to hear any of my professors recommend to wash the vagina to 'clean' it. I would think that washing with soap regularly would wash away the natural flora of the vagina which would tend to increase the risk of getting an infection.