Forum:

Thread: Bleeding between periods for Nine days now

VIP Member Array

Default Bleeding between periods for Nine days now

Hello! I was not sure where exactly to post this, because it concerns birth control as well. Last month, I was off of birth control, to ease migraines. I had my period normally, though it was a day or two shorter then usual.

This month, I got back on birth control, around two weeks ago. I am a college student, and get birth control free from the campus clinic. I told them about my migraines that the doctor presumed were caused by the birth control pills, and they gave me a new, lower dose called ortho-tri-cyclen. The third day on these new pills, after a month of being pill-free, I started spotting a little bit of blood. My periods have been regular my whole life and I have never before spotted in between periods. I had three migraines in two days when I first started this new pill, but now have not had another one, and I guess that they were just caused by the new pill. I was told by friends, my mother, and sources online that spotting between periods, especially after changing/starting anew birth control is normal. I have had no cramping or abdominal pain. The bleeding would slow, the even stop for a day, and I would put off calling the doctor. But now its started yet again, and today was as much a light to moderate normal period. I have one more week of the birth control pills to take. I have kept on taking them normally at the same time every day. I have not missed one.

I have been bleeding for a total of nine days now, and this is way too long I know. I am going to call the women's clinic near me tomorrow, and talk to them. What should I probably be doing? Should I stop this kind of birth control? Should I change again?

I have been considering getting off hormonal birth control alltogether lately, as the migraines are starting to get really annoying and painful, and cutting into my school work and my job.