Forum:

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Natural Treatments for PMDD?

Junior Member Array

Default Natural Treatments for PMDD?

I have PMDD. I've been suffering with this for a long time, but it has become significantly worse in the past couple of years. I absolutely hate who I become the week before my period. I have no patience, can't concentrate, can't bear social or professional interactions...I'm terrible to be around. My husband and son have to live with a madwoman for a week each month and I know that my problem has very much become their problem as well.

My job is high stress and requires a great deal of concentration and focus (I'm a lawyer). Over the past year I'm finding that harder and harder. I spend most of that awful week each month with my office door closed, avoiding clients and co-workers because I just can't handle interactions with them. It's become so bad that I have actually started to work from home a couple of days a month just to avoid being around people.

A few years ago, when I was diagnosed, my physician put me on SSRI's and touted them as being the ultimate solution to my problem. I stayed on them (first Paxil, then Effexor) for about 8 months. My experience was that these drugs are just as terrible for me (and consequently my family) as dealing with the PMDD. I stopped taking them and have been trying to manage the PMDD on my own ever since.

I just can't do it anymore. I feel like I'm completely falling apart. Once I get my period, I'm fine. But the week leading up to it is it's own kind of living hell. There has to be some natural treatment out there.

Has anyone consulted a naturopath or a herbalist about PMDD? What was the result?

C
    Member Array