Forum:

Thread: infertility question

Default infertility question

My boyfriend swears up and down that he is infertile, yet he has never been tested. We do have unprotected sex, but he withdraws before ejaculation every time. At the moment, I am a little over a week late and trying to stay as calm as possible about it. I know people tell me stress can be an issue, but I'm not really worried or stressed about it because I know what the possible consequences are and am old enough to handle it. I have already taken 2 HPTs, both came out negative. I haven't had any signs of my period coming except some light cramps but they hardly last a minute. Normally I will cramp badly for about 4 days before I start. I know also that being physically active can have an effect on menstruation, but I have been consistently physically active since I graduated from high school, and in the last 5 1/2 years I have been a group fitness instructor. The only difference in my exercise recently has been that I run with my boyfriend once in a while, maybe once a week. I suppose that could be a factor? I feel like I might be just working myself up, especially since this is my first male partner that I have had unprotected sex with ever. My dilemma/frustration is that I told him that I was late, and he laughed at me, telling me it was impossible. That's when I asked if he'd been tested, and he said he hadn't, but he "knew." He didn't seem worried at all and was almost making fun of me for being worried. I don't know how to take this? I guess I should just go to the doctor and find out for sure, but I don't want him to know that I did because he will just make me feel more stupid about it. Also, we spend almost every minute together (we work in the same gym), so he would know that I went. I was thinking I could go to Planned Parenthood or some other pregnancy clinic to get a free test? Any advice/suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you for reading, if you made it this far....