Forum:

Thread: Drinking & Belly Fat

Junior Member Array

Default Drinking & Belly Fat

I am a 37 year old female, I am 5ft 1" tall and weigh 114 pounds. I have been running on my treadmill for about 4-5 years about 3 miles 3-4 days a week. Also, I do crunches, pull-ups, push-ups, planks, lunges and squats, sometimes I lift weights.
    About 2 years ago I got married and bought a house, at the time I only drank on weekends. Now it's gotten to be a bad habit and I drink everynight. Either 2-3 glasses of red/white wine or 2-3 vodka with diet tonic. I am pretty lean everywhere but my stomach.
    As far as my diet is concerned, I only drink water during the day and I eat very healthy. I am not into sweets and I don't eat junk food. I do have an occasional slice of pizza or two once or twice a month but most of the time I eat salad with oil and vinegar or some type of lean protein. I only eat whole wheat bread and pasta, brown rice and sweet potato, in moderation of course.
    I think I know the answer to this question but I want to see what everyone else thinks. Do you think the drinking is causing the excess fat on my stomach??? I could really use some advice ;-) Should I quit drinking altogether or just keep it for weekends? Thanks

WH Moderator - JUNE 2011 POSTER OF THE MONTH- Array KMonte85's Avatar

hi gabby! Wow, other than the alcohol, your diet and exercise regime sound perfect! Good for you for keeping such a healthy lifestyle...

I'm no expert, but I've both read studies and been advised by licensed nutritionists that alcohol and fat cells are strongly connected. Not necessarily that alochol=belly fat (aka the beer belly), but most people are genetically prone to carry their fat in their midsection, so when we drink alcohol and the sugars are converted to fat, guess where they go!!