Women's Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Just found out my fiancé smokes weed

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just found out my fiancé smokes weed

We have been dating for a year and 2
    Months. On April 4th, he proposed and I said yes. He just told me a few days ago that he's been drinking everyday for the last few days and smoking weed with some old friends. When we first started dating he told me he did it once in a blue moon. (So I thought like 2x a year.) no. He did it 15x while we've been dating. I told him I'm more mad at him for not telling me sooner.
    Although my major is criminal justice
    and if I become a cop my husband can't be doing that. I also told him because of that and if he doesn't think we can learn to communicate a little bit better (he admitted he's never been good at that) then we aren't going to work. From what I'm told most of marriage is based off of communication. So he says he will come to me on his birthday like we planned (April 27th) and talk about it then. (We live 1 hr away from each other. I met him while I was in the military. I just got out and moved back with my family.) what do you think?

• Communication is everything to a marriage. Relationship communication can be learned, but only if your fiancé is willing. You are correct in thinking that hiding his drug use is the more important issue.

More to the point, have you discussed why he has been drinking and smoking more often? If there is an issue, maybe the two of you can work out the underlying problem. If not, don't expect him to change his habit anytime soon.