Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I said something hurtful and don't know how to fix it

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• I said something hurtful and don't know how to fix it

Hi All, this is my first time posting in a forum... and I am here because I don't know where else to find advise or grounding for how confused and upset I have been feeling.

I am a 27 year old American female in a loving relationship with a 29 year old Mexican man I met at grad school 8 months ago. We hit it off since the beginning though not without silly fights over small differences that feel big from time to time (Me: morning person, food nut, always early. Him: late nighter, pick eater, always late) The little stuff.. the big things like family and religion, honesty and intellect we are eye to eye on.

We're apart for the summer and on his visit across the country to see me, everything went wrong. My family has been putting pressure on me with their traditional expectations of family, dating, etc. Their lack of support for me dating a non-white guy has been very emotionally difficult for me. I see my future taking me out West and he's planning to stay in the east. I want a family, he says he does but isn't very into children.

On the visit, all of my concerns over this relationship, family expectations, the future boiled over. In tears, I spilled my fears, saying to my startled boyfriend "I'm crying because I love you and love what we have but i have to be realistic that in some ways we are too different and I have to admit this probably won't work out long term"