• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Start a new career?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Start a new career?

Hi all,
    I've been a marketing manager for about 2 years and I think I'm starting to get bored of being in front of computers all the time.
    I've been going to the gym for 1 year already and all my friends use to tell me that I inspire them to keep motivated with their fitness goals as I never give up. I have some personal routines for when I train in the gym or outdoors and I know how to eat healthy and how to establish diets depending on the goals.
    I am wondering if I could make my way as a personal trainer?
    I think I'm good with people, and may have enough knowledge about the fitness lifestyle.
    Should I quit my job and start? How should I go about it?

It sounds like you may need some sports physiology courses and maybe some nutrition courses to round out your knowledge. Find out from your gym what they require if they have personal trainers available and talk to other personal trainers about their educational background. Plan your exit from one job when you already have the next one lined up.
    I have but one lamp by which my feet are guided, and that is the lamp of experience.
    Shall we gather strength by irresolution and inaction? Shall we acquire the means of effectual resistance by lying supinely on our backs and hugging the delusive phantom of hope, until our enemies shall have bound us hand and foot?

From a speech by Patrick Henry on March 23, 1775 at St. John's Church, Richmond, Virginia

Comment