• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Updating skills

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Updating skills

I think we have some well-educated, savvy posters here at WHF. If you are a mature professional, what rut do you find yourself in, that must be continually improved in order to stay marketable and relevant in your job today? What changes have you found that must be met with openness and aggressive self-improvement to keep your skills sharp and stay at the top of your field?

I've held my dream job for the past 10+ years. It's a niche, that doesn't easily spill over into other careers. I have a degree and a science background, so of course, that is relevant in other jobs, but my particular skill set is rather specialized. While I love my chosen field, the time has come to move on, for various reasons. What I've found is that I'm over-qualified for many things, yet woe-fully underqualified for many positions requiring the same education, simply because my focus has been so specialized. Other candidates will cast a shadow over me quickly. What I hope to do is to acquire some additional skills that will help set me apart from others. There's simply only a market for my skills, in my particular niche. I sort of painted myself into a corner, so to speak.