• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Dealing with resentment

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dealing with resentment

I am a masters student and there are 4 people total in my lab right now. I work really hard....I study all the time, do a lot of outreach with the community and apply for every award that comes across my desk. I do any presentation asked of me and go to every conference asked of me by my dept head. I really want to be good at what I do and I care a lot about my work and want to make sure I'm representing my school/department/fellow grad students the best I can.

Well....there is another lab member who is the total opposite. He got here a semester before me and will finish after me. He has just now started writing his thesis (I started writing mine months ago). I work really hard to get good grades, he skips class. I apply for everything, he only applies when our advisor asks him to. And he refuses to do some talks and go to some conferences. Even when our advisor says it would be good even for networking he will still try anything to get out of it.