Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PLEASE read.. stuck...

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• PLEASE read.. stuck...

This is my first time here and I just need to vent.. my husband and I always had kind of a rocky relationship. But we loved each other like crazy so we always made it work. After we had my currently 11 month old son we started to fight more and more and now it’s everyday. We fight and yell in front of my son even tho I try and tel him not to. It’s constant verbal abuse and he’s made me into a monster and it’s not fair to me or my son to see us like this.. I wanted to separate but we are both Assyrian (middle eastern) and that’s a big no no in our culture. My parents for sure would never support my decision or me. I’m scared to be alone but I don’t think it’s fair for me to cry everyday and suffer for the rest of my life.. if anyone out there understands or has been where I’ve been.. I’d love to have someone to talk to.. I love my son and don’t blame him obviously or regret him, but I regret ever meeting my husband. It’s an awful feeling..

• Is the acceptance of verbal abuse also part of your culture?

Have you tried having a sit down, heart to heart discussion about the problems in the relationship, and the way they're being managed?

Also, he hasn't made you into a monster. You're responsible for whatever reaction you have to his words or behavior. I understand that it may be intolerable, but he isn't making you into anything.
    Recognize that, change it and you'll be empowered to take more healthy steps toward improvement.