Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Napster?

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• Napster?

Okay so i was an avid limewire pro user for ever and after a battle with viruses ( i never personally had any bad ones but i had a friend whose computer got destroyed) i decided i needed to go elsewhere with my music downloading.
    Anyone use Napster?
    Experiences to share? I loved it when it first came out before it was "illegal" to download and share these files...
    Ugh.
    Help!

• I used it when it was free. Since it turn into 'pay to use' I've no idea...

I've also been using Limewire Pro for years but they've shut it down now, haven't they?

I'd also like to hear a suggestion on this.

Comment

• I can't think of free sites anymore. Some people I knew used Napster and there isn't any complaints I've heard from them (yet).

Comment

• Limewire's servers were shut down under court order. The popular sharing site "The Pirate Bay" is also facing some legal troubles. It's getting harder and harder to get stuff for free now because the law is really starting to crack down on file sharing and copyrights.

I've been using Frostwire, it's a knock-off version of Limewire. Unfortunately, you get a lot of spam results so you have to weed those out and pay attention to the file sizes to find what you're looking for. Thankfully you have the ability to mark certain results as spam and block known spammer hosts so you don't get results from them again. If you're on Mac, Acqlite is also a good alternative.

Comment

• Yes, I just came here to also mention Frostwire. It works fine on Mac & PC.

Comment

• Is frostwire full of virus's like limewire?