Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Feeling smothered by the past

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• Feeling smothered by the past

On the lead up to my recent long term relationship failing, and more so after, thinking back to better times makes me feel smothered. I feel like I can't breathe because there is so much time between then and now, so much history. I can't breathe. I'm still in the same job I was in 5 years ago, I graduated from university two years ago and have just managed to get some head way in, and now I have lost my girlfreind. I constantly think back to when our relationship was fresh and new. I'd only been in my job 2 years and was in my final year of university.

I had less bills then and time seemed fresh and good. Why do I find just the thoughts are suffocating me?!?!
    Happy and Taken!

• It's normal to feel overwhelmed from time to time. I get those same feelings sometimes, thinking back at how easy things used to be. Less bills, more freedom, less cares, more fun, etc., but you need to try and focus on the positive things in your life. You've made head way in your current place of employment. That's something to be proud of. Keep up the good work. I think you should get involved in some activities outside of work. Join a basketball or softball league, meet new people and make new friends. You'll soon see that things are just as good now as they were then. It's all about perspective. It sounds like you need to find yourself again.