Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Very confused about current emotional state

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• Very confused about current emotional state

I'm in my third year of college and I am a very driven and motivated person. I am actively involved in everything I can possibly be while at college and I also work as a mechanical engineering co-op.I have a lot of responsiblity in my life through both school and work and my parents think that maybe I've just hit a point where I am worn out from the past three years of high stress.

I'm only 20 years old and have a lot of menstrual issues. Pain and emotional issues regarding menstraul issues run in my family. I have been trying different birth controls for the past four years and I finally am on an IUD which I am not sure is helping.

My problem is that I have always been an emotional person and easily stressed. Lately it has been getting really bad and I have huge ups and downs throughout the week and my days. I often find that all I feel like doing is crying and I can't really determine a reason why. I have a wonderful supporting family and long term boyfriend who seem very worried about me lately. I don't know if I should go talk to someone because I feel like they won't be able to help me since I have no idea what is wrong.

I have been so successful in my life and career so far and should be a very happy person. I don't understand why I have these major emotional breakdowns. They happen multiple times a week now. I know my IUD is supposed to cause mood swings but this is nothing I have ever experienced before.

Does anyone have any advice?