• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PTSD

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PTSD

Hi. There are many stereotypes and stigmas about PTSD; like we all are going to get hostages---not! Most of us suffer in silence because meds don''t work well.
    We suffer from how others treat us and don't understand a thing about us because they just don't care.

PTSD Awareness Month is May or June is it not?

It is certainly not recognized as it should be, and there are many misconceptions about the disorder and those that are experiencing it. I studied a little on it last year after I realized I was having some signs following an assault. Mine was mild, I'm certainly thankful for that.

I think in the US, efforts are made to bring awareness to mental health, and I believe PTSD will be less stigmatized along with depression and anxiety, etc.

Be strong and speak to a good counselor if you aren't already. It made all the difference for me.

Comment

Originally posted by atskitty2 View Post
      PTSD Awareness Month is May or June is it not?

It is certainly not recognized as it should be, and there are many misconceptions about the disorder and those that are experiencing it. I studied a little on it last year after I realized I was having some signs following an assault. Mine was mild, I'm certainly thankful for that.

I think in the US, efforts are made to bring awareness to mental health, and I believe PTSD will be less stigmatized along with depression and anxiety, etc.

Be strong and speak to a good counselor if you aren't already. It made all the difference for me.