Women’s Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

No period for 5 months!??

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
Clear All

• No period for 5 months!??

Hi everyone, I am new to this message board, but was hoping for some insight on what's been going on with me. Brief background.... I am 21 years old, 5'4", approx. 120 lbs. I have always had irregular periods. I am very active... more than the average person, but not enough to cause missed periods.

So, as I said, my periods have always been irregular, but the longest I've gone without one is just at the 3 month mark. However, now I am at 4 1/2 - nearly 5 months with no period and am not pregnant. I went to the doctor, she did a pelvic exam and ran blood. Everything came back fine except my hormone levels were a bit low. She prescribed Progesterone/(prometrium) and told me to take it for 7 days and I should get a period. However, now I have been off it for 7 days and still no period. Though I do have every other symptom I normally get... cramps, sore lower back, enlarged and tender breasts....but not bleeding! I have had these symptoms for 2 weeks, and cramps on and off the past 5 months.

In addition, since going off the Progesterone, I am experiencing what I am convinced are hot flashes...from someone who is ALWAYS cold, I am breaking out into sweats and feeling like I am trapped in an oven multiple spurts throughout the days. My doctor referred me to a gynecologist to take it from here, but I have to wait another two weeks.

Anyone experienced anything like this or have any clue as to what could be going om with my body?? It's really starting to concern me.

Thanks so much in advance!

• How is your diet?