Women's Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Don't know how to date :(

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Don't know how to date :(

I'm a freshman in college who comes from a very conservative family. My parents are overprotective and I have never been allowed to date. Regardless, I have always been open to breaking this rule if I found the right person. I mean, as much as I love and respect my parents, they come from a different culture that merely does not accept romance before marriage. I, as an individual separate of my parents, value the physical and emotional connection that comes with being in a relationship and want to take in this experience. Quite frankly, I'm also just very lonely. I hate always being on the sideline in terms of romance.

Through the years, my dating life has really just sucked. I've had guys approach me, but I have never been attracted to them back. Finally, this year, I let go of some of the shyness that has held me back from approaching guys romantically. There was this guy in one of my classes who I was attracted to (a senior). He added me as a friend on Facebook and and we started talking. I mustered up the courage to ask him if he wanted to hang out some time. We did hang out for like an hour and it was fun getting to know him. But it was the day before I had to leave for winter break so there wasn't much more we could do face-to-face. We kept in touch a little over break (some flirt texting, etc.) and on Christmas he told me he was attracted to me and that we would hang out some more after we both got back.