Women's Health Interactive Forums

• If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Mom Hates Boyfriend She Doesn't Know - HELP!

Collapse
X
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mom Hates Boyfriend She Doesn't Know - HELP!

Someone please help me out here - I'm at the end of my rope.

Preface: I'm 18 years old and leaving for college in a year, but I still feel like I'm treated like a child. I am extremely mature for my age (if I say so myself... I'm a straight A student holding down a part time job and involved in multiple extra circulars and I don't drink, smoke, or sleep around.) My mother has always been overprotective and somewhat invasive in my life, but I let her be. I never realized how abnormal her behavior is until talking to a few friends who told me that I have to speak up, to which I replied that I am afraid to talk to her about it. However, I've always been respectful towards my mother. In fact, my mother and I used to be extremely close. We were best friends; we would laugh together and I could talk to her about anything. But that all changed after I returned home after studying abroad for two months this past summer.